Ichari-Shahar (The Old City)

Ichari-Shahar, BakuIchari-Shahar is the Old City or the Inner City, which is located in the heart of Baku, and is a real town-planning and architectural preserve, surrounded by the fortress wall. Presumably, the time of Icheri Shahar`s building dates back to the XII century. The OldCity is one of the most densely populated areas of the Middle East, because its settlement dates back to the Bronze Age, as indicated by the numerous excavations and research. Until the beginning of XIX century, in fact this block of the city was inhabited by several thousands of people and formed the city of Baku.

There were special blocks in the fortress, which originally were inhabited on basis of some common features. In 1865 the southern part of the fortress wall was demolished, its stones were sold out, and the money spent on the building of the Baku Boulevard.

A Significant place in the Inner City have Shirvanshakh`s Palace, dating back to the XV century, erected when the Shahs moved his capital from Shemakha to Baku. The complex is still used for festivals of folk dances. There is the Museum of Archeology at the Institute of History and Ethnography of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences in Inner-Shahar, located next to a carpet shop, which has an exhibition hall, where are often held exhibitions of Azerbaijani carpets. Inner-Shahar Complex received the status of historical and architectural preserve in 1977, and since 2000 it is included in the UNESCO list of World Heritage.

Baku - Sights of Interest

Ичери-Шехер

Ичери-Шехер, БакуИчери-Шехер - старый квартал или внутренний город располагается в самом центре Баку и представляет собой настоящий градостроительный и архитектурный заповедник, обнесенный крепостной стеной. Предположительно, время появления Ичери-Шехер относится к XII веку. Старый квартал является одним из самых густонаселённых районов Среднего Востока, ведь его заселение относится еще к бронзовому веку, о чем говорят многочисленные раскопки и исследования. До начала XIX века собственно этот квартал, населённый несколькими тысячами людей, и составлял весь город Баку.

В самой крепости имелись свои кварталы, изначально заселённые по некоторым общим признакам. В 1865 году южная часть крепостной стены была снесена, камни распроданы, а вырученные деньги пошли на обустройство Бакинского бульвара.

Значительным местом во внутреннем городе является Дворец Ширваншахов, датируемый XV веком, когда шахи перенесли свою столицу из Шемахи в Баку. Комплекс ещё используется для проведения фестивалей народных танцев. В Ичери-Шехере находится Музей Археологии при Институте Истории и Этнографии НАН Азербайджана, рядом располагается ковровый цех, имеющий выставочный зал, где часто проходят выставки азербайджанских ковров. Комплекс Ичери-Шехер получил статус историко-архитектурного заповедника в 1977 году, а с 2000 года включён в список памятников всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Достопримечательности Баку